Toll Free Helpline - 1800 345 7157
Help Desk Contact No -91-8895889513 (Timing 10.00 AM to 6.00 PM on working days)


Total Applications

Registration for Professional Tax


As per Rule 4(4) of the Odisha State Tax on Professions, Trades, Callings and Employments Rules, 2000, where the applicant for registration is also an assesse, he shall be liable to obtain a certificate of enrolment followed by a certificate of registration.

Registration for Profession Tax can be done on the Single Window Portal. Before applying for registration in Form-I, commercial entities are required to go through the process of e-enrolment under the PT Act by filling Form-II on the portal. Professionals, however, can proceed to registration directly.

The applicant is required to do the following:

i)       Enter a valid email ID

ii)      Enter a valid PAN (case-sensitive)

iii)     Select a Security Question from the drop down list provided

iv)     Enter an Answer for the Security Question (case-sensitive)

The PAN number and email ID entered will be verified before the applicant can enroll/ register himself for Profession Tax. These, along with the security question and answer will be used for activation of the account.

The online PAN verification service of NSDL e-Governance Infrastructure Limited (NSDL e-Gov) is used for the verification of PAN Number. Once verified, the applicant can fill form(s) I & II to register/enroll for Profession Tax. No other document is required to be uploaded while submitting the application.

As per Rule 18(1) (i) of the OVAT Rules and the amendment Notification No. 18554-FIN-CTI-TAX-0016-2016, the registration certificate is granted by the Circle Office within one working day. The status of the application on the portal will read “Registered” and a 11-digit PIN number will be generated and sent via SMS and Email to the applicant. This number will be the unique identification number of the applicant under the Profession Tax Act.

This site is best viewed in 1024 * 768 resolution with latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer